August 8, 2010, Old Spice – Paprika

This is the painting created today.  In the 1970’s I started collecting old spice cans, flavoring bottles, kitchen tools, and other old printed containers  as well as old cameras.  My house and studio have shelves of these old mementos.  The camera collection began with my mother’s old Kodak Brownie.  She was a photographer in the 1930’s and 40’s and gave me most of her old negatives and prints before she died. I collected old food boxes and old spice containers and my grandmother’s old cookie cutters, salt and pepper shakers.  I like the design style of the old labels and the shapes and the well worn textures and colors.  This painting is oil on canvas panel, 4 inches by six inches.

About aliceflynn

Artist - find me on wordpress and at aliceflynn.com.
This entry was posted in Art, Oil Paintings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to August 8, 2010, Old Spice – Paprika

  1. Laurie Johnson says:

    Your house was the first place I had ever seen a potato ricer! I had to go get one of my own after that. It’s a cool kitchen tool!

  2. Theresa says:

    Alice you have been so busy since I last talked with you. You are awesome!

  3. paprika asia says:

    always i used to read smaller posts which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which
    I am reading here.

Leave a Reply

