My Father

My father worked for the Great Northern Railway in Montana from the time he was 14 years old until he retired at age 65.  If you look closely at the garage on the right side of this painting, you will see the end of a vehicle used for rail inspection.  It could be driven to the rails and then train wheels on the vehicle made it possible to drive on the train tracks.  Many of these vintage rail inspection vehicles can be seen with a search on Google images.

This painting of my father is a detail of a larger oil painting I created in the 1970’s.

See also my March 4th post for another painting of my father.

About aliceflynn

Artist - find me on wordpress and at aliceflynn.com.
This entry was posted in Art, Family, Life, Oil Paintings, Railroads, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

