Finding Inspiration In Old Toys

I have finally decided to give up my vintage croquet set and sell it on etsy.com/mistressofmerlin.  It had been gathering dust in the garage for many, many years.  I don’t even remember the last time we took it out in the yard, but I know it was before my son was in high school, and now he’s been out of college for 2 years.

I love the bright primary colors and the signs of wear on this croquet set.  I’ve always had a fondness for old toys, things from before the 60’s, and as I think of , before Barbie, before everything went plastic.

Old board games can have some of the coolest graphics and type styles.  I once had a Ouija Board from the 40’s that I sold to an antique store.  It was not made by Disney, but the designer had used Disney looking characters from Snow White to illustrate the “talking board”.

 

About aliceflynn

Artist - find me on wordpress and at aliceflynn.com.
This entry was posted in Art, Etsy, Family, Graphic Design, Illustration, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Inspiration In Old Toys

  1. aliceflynn says:

    Update! The croquet set found a new home through Etsy… in Australia!

Leave a Reply

