The Face In The Rock

Photos of faces in the rock in Ireland, blog posted by Bernadette Ryan, reminded me of this oil painting I did in the 70s.

My post on Berndette Ryan’s blog:

Your title caught my eye, as my mother grew up on a homestead in Musselshell county, eastern Montana, where they had a meadow and cliffs that they called The Face In The Rock.  We call the sandstone cliffs “rimrocks” or “rims” in Montana.  When I did an oil painting of the rimrocks and the face, I had to make it look even less like a face than it actually did, as it seemed too contrived to render how much the rock was a human profile. – Alice Flynn

In the painting, I made the branches of the tree slightly obscure the profile on the cliff.

About aliceflynn

Artist - find me on wordpress and at aliceflynn.com.
This entry was posted in Art, Family, Illustration, Ireland, Life, Montana, Nature, Oil Paintings, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Face In The Rock

Leave a Reply

