In Vain Have I Struggled, It Will Not Do

This is a vintage illustration I have adapted to portray Mr. Darcy from Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice”.  It includes the quote from Captain Wentworth in “Persuasion”, “You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope.” and from Darcy, “I love you. Most ardently”.

I was explaining to a friend last night that Jane Austen fans, or Janeites, can be found all over the world, and they are interested in the period clothing, the heroes of her novels, and anything Austen.  Mr. Darcy has become the most popular of her heroes, and has been portrayed by charming actors from Laurence Olivier to Colin Firth.

The tension in the love stories of Jane Austen causes pain and pleasure, the highs and lows of love affairs, and I think as women read these novels and envision the pain, the struggles of the men who are in love, they find a most exquisite pleasure in imagining the emotions of these men who try so hard to hold back their emotions.  This image shows the private time in the dark, when the lover is struggling alone with his attraction to the heroine, feeling the pain of emotions he cannot control.
This print is available, ready to hang, in my Etsy shop HERE (click).

About aliceflynn

Artist - find me on wordpress and at aliceflynn.com.
This entry was posted in Art, Etsy, Illustration, Jane Austen, Life, Love, Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Vain Have I Struggled, It Will Not Do

  1. Bernadette says:

    That is so nice Alice!

Leave a Reply

