Esther In Winter painting by Alice Flynn

I have not been blogging much since spring, when I suddenly found myself in the Intensive Care Unit of the local hospital with a life-threatening blood clot in my leg. The skilled people at Bozeman Deaconess Hospital saved my life. Turned out to be May-Thurner syndrome (yes, i had to google it, too). I woke with my left leg twice the size of my right, and from toes to hip, it was purple. Drove myself to the Emergency Room and experienced my jugular being cut open and a blood clot filter threaded into my body.
I was also dealing with Trigeminal Neuralgia at the time (google has lots of answers about what that is) and now the TN is in remission.

It is good to be alive and currently pain free!

Yesterday I spent three hours in my yard and garden getting everything ready for winter. The snow is on the mountains and will be in our valley soon.

Treasure every day and look for the beauty and kindness around us. Below is one of my paintings, titled Esther In Winter.  – Alice Flynn

EstherWinter

About aliceflynn

Artist - find me on wordpress and at aliceflynn.com.
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Life, Montana, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Esther In Winter painting by Alice Flynn

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your health issues. I’m glad that you’re feeling better, thanks for sharing your work with us. :) *HUGS*

  2. aliceflynn says:

    Just another note about my health scare experience this year – I am sure “Obamacare”, the Affordable Car Act saved my life. Without health insurance, until I qualified for and signed up for coverage last December on healthcare.gov, I would have probably waited too long to go to the hospital. With coverage, I didn’t hesitate, and getting the CT scan of the huge clot, the Vena Cava filter inserted, the angioplasty done to open the kinked vein, and all the care in the ICU saved my life. Sincerely, thanks, Obama!!!! – Alice

Leave a Reply

