Relations Unknown

relations_unknown
I have only a small color photo print of this large painting titled “Relations Unknown”, as the painting was lost to an unethical gallery owner who did not return it to me after a show. So many years have gone by, I thought the location of the painting would not be discovered or the painting may possibly be destroyed.

This evening I had an interesting phone call from someone who has had the painting and appreciated it in his home for many years. Who knows what round-about way it got to him, as it was not from the gallery.

“Relations Unknown” was inspired by a small snapshot I found in my mother’s black and white negatives and prints. She had placed a few old photos in a white envelope with the simple script on the front, “Unknowns”. These people were so expressive, I was inspired by their impression on me to adapt the figures, place them in Montana, and create this painting.

About aliceflynn

Artist - find me on wordpress and at aliceflynn.com.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

